(It’s Sometimes Like It Never Started)

I am starting 2012 on a high note. I am sick, I am really tired, I didn’t do anything for New Years, but I am feeling great. In a few days, my 24th birthday will roll around and for the first time in awhile, I’m not feeling down about it. I don’t really feel like I’m getting older, in fact, this last week has made me feel younger than I have all of last year.

On December 29th I was in Boston watching American Nightmare. If you had told me on January 1st, 2011 that I would cap off the year by seeing American Nightmare, I would’ve laughed in your face. When my friend Davis texted me before my Mineralogy exam in October telling me that American Nightmare was playing a show I simply responded “I doubt it”. It’s really funny looking back in my phone at that text message exchange and watching my level of excitement and disbelief ramp up. I was broke and had no chance of going to the show, and made that well known, but I couldn’t help be excited by the mere idea– a band that I, and so many others, loved so much playing a show together for the first time in 7 years.

Now that the show has come and gone, I still have a hard time believing that I was there and that I saw it. The show was plagued with sound problems,  a fight in the middle of AN’s set, but it was amazing. I experienced something that I literally thought I would NEVER experience.

We did a bunch of Boston junk while we were in the city, Cheers, Fenway, food, etc. I got to meet a lot of cool people and hang out with some friends whom I have not seen a lot of lately. I loved riding the trains around the city and just taking everything in. Boston is a great town and I’d really love to go back.

The whole experience has made me really excited for 2012. I’m sure I will spend most of my time buried in school work and fighting for internships and whatnot, but I am excited at the idea of the random and unexpected roads that life will take me. I don’t think I’ve ever been more positive heading into the new year.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

