Working for the weak end

I received the final piece of information I needed today to finish off my Svalbard application. A ton of weight off my shoulders and I am much less anxious about the start of the semester now. I just have to finish off my essay and I’m ready to go.

Perhaps oddly, I am still anxious about something. I’m kind of anxious about what my letters of recommendation will say about me. Inherently, the letter is positive, but for whatever reason I find myself anxious.

On a different note, last night I listened to the latest episode of the This American Life podcast, ‘Mr. Daisey and the Apple Factory’.

The focus of the episode is on the working conditions at Foxconn, the company whom manufacturers most of the high-tech gadgets that you own. I really think that everyone should listen to it. I will just quote the most resonating part with me…

How often do we wish more things were handmade? Oh, we talk about that all the time, don’t we? ‘I wish it was like the old days; I wish things had that human touch.’ But that’s not true.

There are more handmade things now than there have ever been in the history of the world. Everything is handmade. I know. I have been there. I have seen the workers laying in parts thinner than human hair, one after another after another. Everything is handmade.

Today, the news was full of the threat of mass, public suicide at Foxconn.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

