Tharsis They

I am the guy who is creeping around your neighborhood at night. I’m not really that creepy though. I just enjoy the peaceful nature of the night.

I posted a few weeks ago about how Hollow Earth had me excited about hardcore in 2012. Tharsis They is one of the other bands that has me excited. They’re offering their record ‘Ominous Silence’ to download for free here, and I recommend doing so (you can also stream the album there).

Like Hollow Earth, the reason this band excites me is because they buck the current trends. Instead, they harken to an era that I am very familiar with and that I enjoy quite a bit. If you asked me to name the bands that I think influence this band, I would immediately offer Converge, Botch, Coalesce, Dillinger Escape Plan and other bands of that nature. It reminds me quite a bit of the early 2000’s when the discordant streak of chaos influenced metalcore reigned over the proverbial airwaves.

Even more, it feels like what that genre of music would have matured to had it not fizzled late in the decade. Vocally, it reminds me a lot of the New York band Architect (a band that is very characteristic of the reason the genre fizzled; very mediocre), but musically, it’s as if the genre survived to see the rise of bands like Trap Them and the flourishing of super technical metal such as Periphery.

I’m not sure if this kind of band can survive in the current ecosystem of hardcore and metal, but for my tastes it’s really good. Self-recorded, produced and released, I recommend checking out and supporting them. They’re going about things the right way in my opinion.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

