A reprieve.

I missed a day of blogging. It is a slippery slope and it’s all downhill from here. I’m currently reading a paper on melt distributions below Mount St Helens inferred by electrical conductivity analysis.

After I returned home from school last evening, I promptly fell asleep and woke up today. I’m not typically the kind of person who skips sleep in lieu of my responsibilities. My mental dexterity is determined typically on the amount of sleep I got the night prior and my dietary choices. Sleep and diet took a back seat this week. Fortunately, I think I did well on both exams that necessitated this sleep deprivation.

I already spoke to my Volcanology exam, but my Global Cycles exam also went well. I came very close to running out of time as my answers were very long detailed and I always feel confident when that happens. I think most of my anxiety came from talking to my peers. When we begin talking about exams we create some sort of self-reinforcing panic cage that convinces me that-a.) The exam is a lot more important than it is and b.) I could never pass aforementioned exam.

Tonight and tomorrow I prepare for Structure and Physics exams on Monday.

Last night there was a meeting of the faculty members and undergrads to talk about undergraduate research opportunities within the department. There are a lot of interesting opportunities. I hope I can bug someone enough to let me in on some of it.

We’ve been talking about using seismic reflections to model magma chambers beneath volcanic zones in my Volcanology class, and one of my professors is doing seismic reflection analysis in Alaska, so I might try getting on board with that. More and more I’m thinking something mineralogical/structural geology related work. I feel like that is the best way to go to keep my academic and professional opportunities wide open.

It’s hard to think so much about the future right now as the present keeps slapping me in the face.

Here is a “funny” image I found today about how climate change “skeptics” view temperature and climate data vs. scientists and informed people.

It’s a Skeptical Science production.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

