Funerary

I just feel like pointing out how great this record is. Pulling Teeth has long been one of my favorite bands, but not a band that I feel like has put out great “albums”. They have a ton of songs that I love, but their albums have always lacked a cohesiveness that I appreciate. However, their final two albums, “Paranoid Delusions, Paradise Illusions” and “Funerary” are thematically consistent and musically awesome.

They’re a band that’s not afraid to attack irrational belief (and be irrational themselves at times, but that’s for another time), and vehemently  project the ideas that they believe in (veganism, straight edge, gay rights, etc.), and that’s what’s always drawn my interest. This is a time period in punk and hardcore where talking about shit that actually matters has taken a backseat to writing “deep” lyrics about being a teenager.

Anyway, Pulling Teeth played their last show very recently, and I was thinking about them today and tossed on Funerary. I can’t say enough positive things about it, but I like to draw attention (which is needless to anyone who’s listened to the record as it’s far and away the best song on it) to the song “At Peace”.  I was really attatched to this song when I first heard the record, as I’m sure everyone is for the last bit of lyrics…

Never will I see your face and never will I touch your skin
And never will I ever get to see you smile again
Never will I see your face and never will I touch your skin
And never will I ever get to feel your warmth again
Never will I see your face and never will I touch your skin
And never will I ever get to call and ask for help again
Never will I see your face and never will I touch your skin
And never will I ever get to tell you that I love you again

I don’t know, maybe that doesn’t land for anyone who hasn’t lost someone close to them.

The last time I saw them play was in Philadelphia at This Is Hardcore over the summer, and they opened with that track, and it was prefaced by Dom (singer) explaining that his father’s death had inspired the song. I don’t know why, but that made the set a million times better and that song so much more impactful. I’m really going to miss this band.

Here’s there set from that show… P.S: Stick around until 15:30 to watch things get insane to Stonethrowers (a song that perfectly embodies Pulling Teeth).

Pulling Teeth (Full Set) from hate5six on Vimeo.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

